Baseball Writers turn down Steroid CommitteeDuring the national meeting of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, baseball writers vote down a proposal to form a steroid committee for the development of guidelines in relation to evaluation of players from the era of steroids in Hall of Fame voting.

Players needed just 75 percent of the vote for election. Jim Rice and Rickey Henderson were the only electees for this year.

The proposal was turn down 30-25. The name of winner is expected to be announced in December.

The proposal was brought forward by Rick Telander, a Chicago Sun-Times columnist, at a Chicago chapter meeting last month.